Mr. Backstreetboy: How I Learned to Hate People and Admire Myself

Well, loadshedding, oil crisis, price hike and other burning ills are no longer the topics of discussions. Authorities have already stopped talking about these issues. Add to this people’s mysterious tolerance and apathy and one wakes up to a bitter fact that Nepalese are growing dangerously blasé and tolerant about these long-troubling ills.

This certainly doesn’t bode well, does it?

Waffling on newspapers or debating at a glittering studio of a TV channel over these issues is one thing and doing something really demanding is another. I’m suggesting here that people should take out to streets to protest authorities’ apathy and maladministration. Is this not yet enough to make you revolt?

Wait, people won’t revolt. They rather prefer chanting slogans for a political party than protesting for a common goal. Nepalese are big fuckers. Bad gives birth to bad. All these political degenerates born among us. They’re not Lunarmen, nor Martians, are they?

So, people share the blame. But I don’t. I’m not among these people. I ain’t corrupt like these people are.

In essence, I only am good, all others are bad.

I’ve not meet a single man who’s good among thousands I acquainted with.  People are morally bankrupt, short of their conscience and are rather ready to trade their morals for a dime.

With no basic amenities at our disposal, daily life in this rotting country among people bereft of conscience is getting impossible and there’s no sign that coming years will be any better. I’ve finally given up my xenophobic attitude and have decided to immigrate (emigrate?) to another country. Let’s see what comes next…

[PS Title of this post is inspired (a parody?) from the 1964 dark comedy ‘Dr Strangelove: or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb’ by legendary Stanley Kubrick. I mostly like his meticulous attention to details in films. Full Metal Jacket, Barry Lyndon and The Shining are my faves from the auteur’s oeuvre.]

Leave a Reply

